DWI Attorney in Concord, NC
Over 20 Years of Drunk Driving Defense Representation in Cabarrus County
Getting arrested for a DWI can be a very stressful and overwhelming experience for many people in North Carolina. Common emotions you may feel include fear, shame, embarrassment, guilt, anxiety, and uncertainty about the future. Additionally, there may be practical concerns such as how to handle legal proceedings, how to communicate the situation to family and friends, and how the arrest will impact your driving privileges, employment, and personal relationships. Let Scott C. Robertson help you navigate.
What is the Difference Between DUI & DWI in North Carolina?
Driving while impaired or operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs can result in serious consequences if convicted. In addition to the other legal ramifications, driving while impaired (DWI) can have a major impact on your life as it can result in the restriction of your freedom through the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
The DWI legal process can be difficult to navigate without experienced and knowledgeable legal advice. Don’t face your charges alone.
Call our seasoned Concord DWI lawyers at 704-795-9200 to schedule your case evaluation today.
North Carolina DUI Penalties
If you have been charged with a DUI for the first time in Concord, you could be facing the following penalties:
- 3-9 months of DUI School
- License suspension up to 6 months
- 3-5 years of probation
- Fines up to $1,900
Field Sobriety Tests
If you are pulled over for a suspected DUI, you could face any of the following 3 Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFST):
- Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test - In this test the officer will observe the eyes of the person in question as they slowly move a pen or small object back and forth to look for indicators in each eye that the person is impaired.
- Walk-and-turn test - In this test, the officer instructs the person to take nine steps, touching heel-to-toe in a straight line and the return back. The officer is looking for signs that the person is impaired such as not being able to keep their balance, starting before the instructions are finished or not following the instructions properly.
- One-leg stand test - In this test, the officer instructs the person to stand with one foot off the ground and hold it for about 30 seconds or until told to put it down. The officer looks for signs of impairment such as swaying, hoping or using their arms to balance.
Understanding North Carolina DWI Laws and Penalties
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense in North Carolina. Being convicted of DWI can have far-reaching consequences, including the immediate revocation of your driver's license, long-term revocation of your driver's license upon conviction, and additional penalties for driving without a valid license. In this blog post, we will discuss the DWI laws in North Carolina, the consequences of getting a DWI, and what you should do if you are faced with DWI charges.
Immediate Suspension/Revocation of Driver's License on Arrest for DWI
If you are arrested for DWI in North Carolina, your driver’s license will be immediately suspended or revoked. You will be given a Notice of Revocation that states how long your driver’s license will be revoked and when it can be reinstated. The length of the revocation depends on whether it is your first or subsequent offense as well as any aggravating factors involved in the case. You may also be eligible for an alternative to suspension or revocation such as a limited driving privilege; however, these privileges come with additional restrictions and requirements.
Long-Term Revocation of Driver's License Upon Conviction of DWI
If you are convicted of DWI in North Carolina, the court will order an additional period of revocation based on several factors such as prior offenses and blood alcohol concentration at the time of arrest. This period could range from 1 to 4 years depending on your individual circumstances. If you are found guilty, it is important to note that even after the initial revoked period has ended, you may still need to meet certain conditions before being able to obtain full reinstatement of your driver’s license. These conditions may include paying fines and fees or attending classes related to alcohol abuse prevention or education. Additionally, if you drive without a valid license during this time period then you could face additional fines or jail time.
Don’t Defend Your Rights Alone. Call Our Concord DWI Attorney Today
When it comes to DWI charges, our locally-based Concord DWI lawyer at Scott C. Robertson Law Office, P.C. understands how important it is to mount a knowledgeable defense in order to protect your future and potentially reduce or eliminate charges completely. He can provide an intimate knowledge of local DWI procedures and defenses to maximize your chances of a satisfactory outcome.
Don’t hesitate to contact us if you have been charged with DWI. Call our Concord DWI attorneys at (704) 795-9200 to schedule a consultation appointment in our office today.